CompTIA’s Security+ certification will be your foundation certification if you want to enter the lucrative cybersecurity industry. Security+ is the industry standard for anyone interested in IT systems security. The countermeasures for new threats are constantly evolving and changing with the increase in them. One of the most significant security changes is the upgrade of the Security+401 exam to Security+501 exam.
CompTIA Security+ (SY0-501), English language exam, will be retiring on July 31, 2021. A new examSecurity+ (SY0-601) is now available.
This article will discuss the differences between CompTIA Security+ SY0-401 and SY0-501 exams. Although the SYO 401 exam has been retired it is still interesting to see the changes in exam content that led to the latest version. So, let’s get started.
CompTIA Security+ – An Overview
Security+ training teaches the basics of monitoring and implementing security on computer networks, as well as how to respond to security incidents. This certification gives you the confidence that you are capable of setting up secure environments.
Additionally, this certification allows you to deal with security breaches in challenging situations, including the following skills:
First, security fundamentals
Secondly, basic risk identification and analysis
Then, threat identification and assessment
Also, how to secure IT infrastructure security
Cryptography is another option.
Further, Operational security as well as general security processes are described.
Finally, Incident response and business continuity
Now that you are familiar with CompTIA Security+ it’s time to move on and learn the major differences between SYO 401 and SYO 501
Difference between SYO-401 and SYO-551
We can first say that the main difference between Security+ SY0-401 & SY0-501 are the exam objectives. CompTIA Security+ (SY0-501), exam covers core security functions such as configuring resilient networks, using security frameworks and tools, risk management, and mitigation. SYO-501’s content has been reorganized and focuses more on the application than on analytics.
Refer to the table below for more tail information.
SYO-401 is no more in existence. Therefore, it is impossible to take the exam. To keep up with CompTIA courses, the SYO-501 exam is required. This is the updated version of the SYO-401. Let’s now get to the point and discuss the new SYO-501.
CompTIA Security+ (SY0-501 Exam)
Network security is one of the fastest growing areas in Information Technology. This certification is awarded to those who have successfully completed and achieved it. It shows that they are proficient in security, access control, and network infrastructure.
There is a high demand for Information Technology security specialists due to the constant rise in cyber threats. If you have expertise in both networking and security, you will be a valuable asset to any company that hires.
Aspiring candidates must have CompTIA+ Certification and at the very least 9 to 12 months’ experience in networking.
Basic Details
CompTIA Security+ (SY0-501), is a 90-minute exam. The exam contains a maximum of 90 questions. To qualify for the exam, you must score at least 750 on a scale from 100 to 900. The exam is now available in only four languages. These languages are English, Japanese Portuguese, and Simplified Chinese.
There are many types of questions for the CompTIA Security+ (SY0-501), exam. These are:
Multiple Choice Questions